Sweet Stout: Batch 3

Today I’m bottling my English IPA, tomorrow is brew day for my Sweet Stout!  Here’s the recipe:

  • LME light 6.0 lbs
  • 12 oz crystal malt
  • 1 lb black patent malt
  • 2 oz cascade hops (6.4AA) 60 minutes
  • 1 lb lactose
  • Safale S-04 dry yeast
  • 1 whirlfloc tablet
  • 4 oz corn sugar for bottling.

Estimated OG 1.045-1.048
Estimated IBUs 38-42
Estimated ABV 4.5%
Suggested fermentation temp 65-68 (will likely be 68-69, closet temp is pretty steady)
LME and lactose added before boil, total boil 60 minutes
rehydrate yeast at 95F in a cup of boiled spring water

I ordered a wort chiller but it hasn’t arrived yet, so this will be the last batch I have to cool with ice.

OK.  Here is my procedure:

  1. Bring about 2.5 gallons of spring water to 168F
  2. Add grain bag, slowly immersing and mashing with spoon to ensure the entirety of the grain becomes saturated, with no dry pockets
  3. maintain temperature at 155-158F for 30-40 minutes
  4. remove grain bag
  5. add LME, Lactose
  6. bring to boil
  7. add hops
  8. boil 60 minutes
  9. at 55 minutes, add whirlfloc tablet
  10. at flameout, put the boiling kettle in ice to cool
  11. sanitize bucket, wine thief, thermometer
  12. Add 2 gallons cold spring water to bucket
  13. when wort reaches about 120-130F, add wort to bucket and top to 5.5 gallons with cold spring water
  14. take sample for OG reading
  15. aerate wort
  16. add dry yeast directly to wort
  17. after 30 minutes, gently stir
  18. close bucket and add airlock
  19. ferment in closet (68-69F ambient air temp)

That’s my procedure, and I’m sticking with it and having a homebrew along the way (Al’s Celebration Ale).

OG: 1.052

 

UPDATE: SG 1.024 as of the 13 day mark.  Still a bit cloudy, tasted pretty good, although a bit more bitter than I expected.  It should turn out pretty good though.  I plan to leave it for another week, then bottle using 3/4 cup by weight of corn sugar.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • alcaponejunior  On March 8, 2012 at 3:28 pm

    Well popped a bottle of this today, it’s a bit early but I think I got a little extra bottling sugar in there so let’s find out. It’s tasty, not spectacular by any means, and appears to be coming along nicely.

    I don’t get a lot of aroma from it, but then I haven’t been feeling that well, really stuffed up, so I can’t judge the smell fairly today.

    It’s got a bit of tang from the carbonation but needs to condition longer before it’s really ready.

    I think the final product will be a tasty (if unspectacular) beer, still good enough for me!! I’ll try another bottle sometime next week and see how it’s progressing.

  • alcaponejunior  On March 12, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    It’s getting better quick, should be about perfect any day now. Having another bottle now and it’s really good!

Leave a comment