SMaSH weekend!

Well I’m ready to brew again, two batches in fact.  Both Blonde Ale III and Elderberry Wheat II have fermented long enough (by the time this big brew day goes down) and we’re ready to bottle them.

I’ve also been wanting to try some more SMaSH beers.  Why?  Because SMaSH beers are simple, and they help develop your processes.  Also, I’ve been liking these simple pale ales a lot, tending towards slightly on the hoppy side.  So we’re going to brew two SMaSH beers in one big brew day!

The first SMaSH beer will be a Munich malt and Bravo hops special.

  • 12 lbs Munich
  • 14 grams Bravo at 60
  • 2 oz Bravo at 5 minutes
  • 2 oz Bravo at flameout
  • 2 oz Bravo dry hop

Targets:

  • OG 1.064
  • IBU 45
  • SRM 12.3
  • ABV 6.6

The second SMaSH beer will be a pilsner malt and fuggles hops with saison yeast smash, with 3711 yeast.  Thanks to scurvy311 on beer advocate for the idea!

  • 12 lbs pilsner malt
  • 1 oz fuggles at 60
  • 1 oz fuggles at 15
  • 1 oz fuggles at 5
  • 1 oz fuggles at 0
  • 2 oz fuggles dry hop

Targets:

  • OG 1.062
  • IBU 27.8
  • SRM 2.7
  • ABV 6.9

It’s really going to be a big day!  We’ve got multiple brews going, a couple beershed projects working, and I gotta fix my brakes too!  We have an entire “crew” to get things done, and plenty of homebrew to boot!  I’ll be “orchestrating” the brewing side of it, my bro the “building” side of it, and the scallywags will be fixin’ my brakes if they want any beer!

Should be a smashing day!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • jsamuelson18  On January 30, 2013 at 2:34 pm

    Reblogged this on Good Beer Better Hats.

  • alcaponejunior  On February 4, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    Well we got two batches bottled, but only the petite saison done on saturday. OG was 1.060. Bravo/munich is next tho.

  • alcaponejunior  On February 11, 2013 at 4:39 pm

    Wow I haven’t been able to brew for over a week. I’ve got an open spot in the fermentation freezer! The Bravo Munich smash is calling me! Hopefully I get it done on friday!

  • alcaponejunior  On February 16, 2013 at 6:14 pm

    Petite saison’s final gravity was 1.006. Looked and tasted like it’s going to come out excellent!

  • alcaponejunior  On February 16, 2013 at 6:14 pm

    Munich Bravo is brewed too! Went into the fermenter today! A bit late but better late than never!

  • alcaponejunior  On February 23, 2013 at 5:28 pm

    popped a test bottle of the petite saison, looking and tasting great! I was a bit concerned about bottle bombs because I see that some people get down to as low as 1.003, and I bottled at 1.006. It’s well carbonated already, but I don’t think it’ll produce bombs. Quite interesting tho, lots of spice, very dry, quite delicious!

  • Chris  On March 2, 2013 at 7:07 am

    Congratulations. I have 4 bottles of my last Saison that were supposed to go to the Drunk Monk Challange, but didn’t. At 3 months in the bottle, best beer I ever tasted.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 273 other followers

